Why Eat Paleo?

Why eat Paleo? For me this is not about sticking to a strict diet, believe me I’m totally for indulging now and then (check out the chocolate cake recipe i just posted, it’s amazing), it is about being mindful of what I am ingesting. With the various carcinogens I am exposed to on a daily basis, the least I can do is limit the harmful causes of disease that I do have direct control of.

I have unfortunately been struggling with digestive issues for as far back as I remember. After discovering that my sister has celiac disease, about two years ago I decided to follow her lead and become gluten free to combat some of my symptoms. I found that limiting my gluten intake not only helped control digestive issues & maintain a smaller waistline, but also feel more energized and even see visible improvements within my skin and hair. Studies have even shown that more than just celiac patients react negatively to gluten. As published within the study “Gluten causes gastrointestinal symptoms in subjects without celiac disease: a double-blind randomized placebo-controlled trial” by The Monash University Department of Medicine and Gastroenterology, “34 individuals with irritable bowel syndrome were randomized to either a gluten-containing or a gluten-free diet. The group on the gluten-containing diet had more pain, bloating, stool inconsistency and fatigue compared to the other group.” I am not suggesting that everyone just stop eating gluten, but I am suggesting that anyone who has suffered from abnormal symptoms to experiment more with their diet to see if it is a contributor.

After recently discovering that many of my difficult symptoms were actually due to gallstones, I am now less focused on solely limiting the consumption of gluten and have been primarily focused on adjusting to digestion post surgery. I have found that by naturally limiting consumption of gluten, dairy, and processed foods I have less issues arise with indigestion later.

Not only this, but within my research of possible causes of gallbladder disease, both estrogen & thyroid imbalances are contenders. The prime cause of these imbalances are synthetic hormones. These are the types of hormones that are loaded within non-organic beef and dairy products. This can cause various adverse health affects. When researching how to limit the effects of hormonal imbalances and digestive issues like inflammation and leaky gut, I have found series of success stories by people who have used the Paleo diet as a roadmap to combat these symptoms and lead a healthier lifestyle.

It is estimated on average that Paleolithic humans consumed three times more produce than the typical American, more fiber, more protein, more omega-3 fatty acids, more unsaturated fat, more vitamins and minerals and less saturated fat and sodium. As Dr. Sarah Ballantyne writes, “By addressing important lifestyle factors and changing your focus to eating nutrient-dense foods that support optimal gut health (and optimal health of your gut microorganisms), that restore levels of important nutrients and provide all of the building blocks that your body needs to heal and properly regulate the immune system, that help resolve inflammation and support organ function, you create an environment in your body conducive to healing.”

A close friend of mine once told me that it is a shame to look at my body being sensitivity as a curse, it is a blessing. It is a blessing because it allows me to be more vigilant than the average person concerning my consumption and health, to ensure that I am treating my body right. I have chosen to share some of my findings, strategies, & recipes through this blog.

d47a2fe6a09e03f0d9f1da3d30637300.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

